My first plunge into the world of blogging

Alright. Here goes nothing. And by nothing, I truly mean nothing, because I’m certain that no one knows about, nor will ever read, this blog. But then why do I feel so strange about posting something on this blog? Maybe it’s because I know that, once I post it, my words won’t belong to me anymore. They will be part of the big, scary inter webs, and my own thoughts will cease to remain private.

Nevertheless, here I am venturing into the world of blogging.

Aaaaand I’ve lost you already. Okay, let me condense my wandering thoughts into what my goals are for this blog.

1. I want to stop being scared of letting other people see my poetry. As of now, only three people know that I enjoy writing poems (even if they don’t enjoy reading them). So, in the spirit of New Year’s resolutions, I will post all of my poetry online in the hopes that, one day, I can share my poems with more than members of my family.

2. I hope to improve my poetry through comments and constructive feedback, because that really is the only way I can ever get better.

3. I want to connect with other literary fanatics and hopefully increase my love for reading, writing and editing (yes, I’m a teenager who finds joy in editing other people’s essays, stories and poems. Don’t worry, I already know that I’m an oddity.)

These are my three goals for this blog. I know it will be a challenge, but, as Lao-tzu said, “a journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.”

Leave a Reply

