Twice

I saw you die once;
once upon a time
when the world was
still a plaything
to me.

You said you were sick,
but I shut my eyes
and hid my tears
so I wouldn’t have to face
a certain possibility.

Then you were white;
your head resting on the hard ground
and no sound
was heard except for the
frightened voices in my head.

And I watched,
barely awake,
as you were driven away,
scared at the thought of you
breathless on the starched bed.

Helpless as an owl,
I cried because I now knew
that the world was
a game of chance,
of dice.

I saw you die once,
but I smile when I realize
that
I also saw you survive
and live twice.

 

Leave a Reply

