Villanelle

My attempts to mend the fences are late
but this silence is hard for me, you know.
Now the worst word is indifference, not hate.

I used to think things would change if I wait,
that our problems would melt like springtime snow.
My attempts to mend the fences are late.

Do you love me but it doesn’t translate?
I don’t see emotion in your eyes though.
Now the worst word is indifference, not hate.

I wish we could start again—a clean slate
for now we are strangers: not friends, nor foes.
My attempts to mend the fences are late.

You pass by with your mouth always agape,
but no anger or love escapes your lips, no.
Now the worst word is indifference, not hate.

My eyes have now begun to look glazed
and I’ve stopped caring; I just want to go.
My attempts to mend the fences are late;
Now the worst word is indifference, not hate.

I know that this is not one of my best poems by any means, but I thought I would post this since I spent such a long time trying to write my first villanelle. I never realized how hard it would be to write a villanelle! Also, it certainly doesn’t help when I compare my meager efforts to Sylvia Plath’s masterpiece.

5 thoughts on “Villanelle

  1. Actually that’s really good, especially for a first attempt at a villanelle. It is indeed a hard poem to write, but I like it because the repetition of that 1st and 3rd lines from the 1st stanza really force you to circle in on an idea, and stops you from developing a narrative. Once you get the hang of them, villanelles are a good way to dig deeper into a particular feeling or image or event or anything really.
    Again, good work! Keep practising them, they’ll grow on you I promise! 🙂

    • Thank you! I think you’re right, the hardest thing I had to deal with while writing is that I had to stick with one idea and couldn’t really expand on it. But I will definitely try writing more villanelles in the future, and hopefully, one day, it will come as naturally to me as any other style of poetry.

Leave a Reply

