I’m alive! A little exhausted after the surge of adrenaline passed, but I’m alive and intact!

And no, I don’t just exclaim “I’m alive!” after getting through every day without being seriously injured or maimed; I’m saying this because I just got back from skydiving and it was amazing!

My victory pose after going skydiving

I’m having a hard time describing the feeling, but I’ll try for you guys πŸ™‚
It was a little frightening jumping off the plane, but once I was in free fall, it was such a calming, blissful feeling. Underneath my feet (or I should say 14,000 feet beneath me) was the tranquil, turquoise sea and when I looked straight in front of me I saw the beautiful, sunny horizon. It really is an amazing experience, and I think everyone should experience at least one time in their life.

And for those who are too scared, let me tell you, it isn’t scary at all!

Honestly, the scariest part of skydiving is the anticipation, and the organization I went to was extremely good at building up the anticipation. Our session was supposed to be at 1:00 pm, but because of excessive fog we had to wait an hour before actually putting on any gear or getting any instruction.

Needless to say, that one hour was torture. Especially since they had a video running the entire time of other people going skydiving and screaming their heads off. Half of me wanted to bolt out of there right now, wondering how I could ever do something so stupid, while the other half of me just wanted the fog to go away so I could jump off a plane 14,000 feet from the ground!

And then when the fog cleared and I got onto the plane, the anticipation just built up further Β and further, and I knew that if I focused on what I was about to do in the next few minutes I would chicken out, hurl and pass out… exactly in that order.

But once I got off the plane, minus the first few seconds when I was just screaming and in terror for my life, everything was actually pretty peaceful and serene. I’m just glad that I went first and didn’t have to watch the person who was going skydiving with me jump off the plane πŸ™‚

For those of you who are considering going skydiving, opt for skydiving with an instructor. Going tandem was the best decision I made since I didn’t have to think, I just had to swing my legs out of the plane and the instructor jumped off for me. He handled all of the cords and maneuvers and I just had to keep my neck up and enjoy the experience.

So that was my Thursday! It definitely wasn’t a typical Thursday by any means, and I am so glad that I didn’t chicken out because it honestly was the best experience of my life.

2 thoughts on “The skydiving experience

Leave a Reply

