I don’t know your pain but I know your tears

I saw this clip about a woman who had gone through child abuse and I wrote this out of the pain I felt for her.

Can I hug you?
Can I rip your tears away
so you never feel the pain
you feel each and every day?

I want to cry for you
I confess,
because someone has made your life
this warped and tattered, bruising mess

and I know it wasn’t your fault
and I know you never wanted it this way,
or any way
but the right way.

I don’t know—
I can’t know you
I suppose.
Because I can’t understand what you’ve been through,

because I don’t know your agony,
your pain.
So let me go back in time and kiss those teary eyes
and cut off your clinging shame.

One thought on “I don’t know your pain but I know your tears

Leave a Reply

