Even though it’s little late for resolutions now, I have a new one that might be hard to achieve, but will be extremely satisfying in the end.

I want to read 5 new books next month.

I know, 5 is a puny, pathetic number in comparison to those who resolve to read 100 new books in a year, but 5 is a big number for me. Normally, I grab books that I’ve read a million times, and then I’ll read them another million times, which doesn’t allow me to really read new books (for instance, my copy of Tuesdays with Morrie and Catch-22 are all but falling at the seams). So I want to expand my literary horizon and, thanks to you guys, I have the recommendations to do it.

I’ll let this month be a trial run to see how I do. And just so I don’t wimp out and make excuses like “I just don’t know what book to read!” I’m writing down the books that I want to read within the month of February:

1. A Passage to India by E.M. Forster

2. The Beautiful and the Damned by F Scott Fitzgerald

3. Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoyevsky (although this is kind of a cop out since I’m reading it in my English class. Oh well. It’s a pretty dense book so I think it should count)

4. Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro

5. Captain Corelli’s Mandolin by Louis de Bernières

and possibly House of Mirth by Edith Wharton, just because it’s been sitting on my bookshelf looking very dejected since I haven’t read it yet. Yes, my books have feelings, and no, I’m not crazy.

So that’s my plan! Thank you guys for your recommendations. I hope to read all of the books you suggested by the end of the year, but I think I’ll stick to my monthly plan for now, taking my reading resolution in baby steps 🙂

5 thoughts on “Literary Resolution

  1. Awesome! I hope you like Captain Corelli’s Mandolin, it is one of my favourite ever books! A Passage To India is also good, and I have heard good things about The Beautiful and the Damned (it’s sitting on my shelf waiting for me to read it).
    Cool to hear you love Catch 22 as well, holy moly I loooove that book!

Leave a Reply

