The black coffee drinkers are never late
with quixotic liquid that makes them run;
as I hold steady and wait for my fate.

Single red cars rush past at a great pace
for the day is over and they’re not done.
The black coffee drinkers are never late.

I always arrive after the set date—
a flower that blooms in the setting sun,
as I hold steady and wait for my fate.

Those runway model racers can’t see straight,
besides the obstacles to overcome.
The black coffee drinkers are never late.

I’m never the first one out of the gate,
yet I need no plaques to tell me I’ve won
as I hold steady and wait for my fate.

To the speedsters, my days have been a waste,
but I know that my time has just begun.
The black coffee drinkers are never late;
As I hold steady and wait for my fate.

My second villanelle! It was much easier to write this time, which is definitely a good sign. Maybe villanelles aren’t that bad after all 🙂

5 thoughts on “American Coffee

Leave a Reply

