It’s Friday night, and I’m a second semester senior with my own car. I should be living it up right?

Well, if by living it up, you mean practically living in the bookstore near my house, then yes, you are correct. I spent upwards of two hours in the bookstore trying to figure out what books to get with my limited budget, and I would have spent even longer if my mom hadn’t called and asked me to buy cream for her.

So I was pulled away from the bookstore, but not before I bought two books and took a picture of the best example I’ve found about why The Great Gatsby is such a fantastic book.Great Gatsby

If you can’t read the postcard, since I know the glare is not friendly to the eyes, the recommendation that one of the workers at the bookstore wrote said: “I’ll say that this is my favorite novel. I love the superficial fun of the party scenes. I love that feeling of eternity hanging there off the shore of Gatsby’s house. I love the books lyricism, its engaged detachment, as if the teller of the story were far off, regrettably, but called in his way, to Gatsy & Daisy Buchanan, to hold them in place for a brief enchanted moment.”

I realize that my life is a tad bit pathetic in comparison to some of my friends who party like crazy, but I’m pretty happy that I got to spend my Friday night at the bookstore. I’m also really excited to read the two books I got: Unaccustomed Earth by Jhumpa Lahiri and Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro. Yes, I already have 5 or 6 books that I haven’t read yet, but I just couldn’t pass up a trip to the bookstore.

6 thoughts on “My version of a Friday night party

  1. I love that recommendation, so good! 🙂
    And who says spending a friday night at a bookstore makes your life pathetic, and that if you had partied like crazy it wouldn’t have been? As far as I’m concerned, often it’s the other way around…I think it’s awesome that you spent your friday night like that! 😛

  2. the ishiguro is *so* good. never let me go was the first book of his i read and then i just had to keep reading.

    i hope you’ll love it! (also, spending a friday at a bookstore is basically the best way to spend a friday. or a saturday. or a sunday)

    • Aahhh I’m excited to read it now! Once I’m done with Unaccustomed Earth (which is fabulous btw) I’ll start Never Let Me Go, and probably will stay up the whole night reading it if it’s as good as you say 🙂
      And yes, I totally agree with you. I feel that when I get a job, I’m going to be spending most of my money on books since I’ll be at the bookstore all the time

Leave a Reply

