Ten things I will never understand

1. Why people clean their house before their cleaning lady or cleaning crew comes to clean it up for them.

2. When people use the phrase: “It’s clear to everyone.” If it’s clear to everyone, why are you saying it? You’re just wasting everyone’s time by saying what they already know.

3. Chemistry. I tried it and failed, and now I know that chemistry will always be a gigantic mystery to me.

4. People who can party hard until 4 am and then wake up to go to work. I can’t do it. I’m still a teenager and I need my full eight to nine hours of sleep. I don’t understand how thirty-year-olds do it and not go completely off-the-wall bonkers.

5. Why football is called football and soccer is called soccer. I’m no sports person, but doesn’t it make sense to call the sport involving feet “football,” and the other sport “soccer?”

6. Twilight. Just don’t understand how it got so popular when it’s so bad.

7. Why I watch reality TV shows. Seriously, I know that they’re crap, and I know that I will get crap from my friends for watching them, but I can’t stop. At least I haven’t started watching Toddlers and Tiaras. I feel like once I start watching that, I’ll be a true Reality TV junkie.

8. Why I buy jeans that are too small for me and tell myself that I’m going to lose weight in the future. It never happens. And I never seem to remember this, as evidenced by the recently bought too-tight jeans that I’m being sucked into right now.

9. Why, when I have 10 unopened, unread books sitting on my bookshelf, do I have an urge to go to my favorite bookstore and buy some more books?

10. Hipsters.

So those are the ten things that I will never be able to understand! What about you guys? Do you have things in your life that completely baffle your mind?

10 thoughts on “Ten things I will never understand

  1. Hahahaa I love it, I agree with so many of these! šŸ˜› Funny with 4 – I used to be able to stay up all night, sometimes 2 nights in a row, and still plod on through a 10 hour shift at work afterwards with no real trouble. Now I am a wreck if I sleep any less than 4 hours a night….oh well.

    • That’s still very impressive! I literally need at least 6 hours of sleep, otherwise my head starts pounding throughout the day and I can’t function.
      The Harry Potter movie premiere was the end of me since I had to go to school the next day.
      I’m glad you enjoyed it!

  2. 1. I don’t understand why I start my day reading the thoughts of people that will now have my mind calculating 10 things I don’t understand until I am forced to write them down.

    But it was a nice start to my morning…. thank you.

  3. This is a great list and I can identify with most of them, especially #9! With regards to #5 the world outside of N. America calls doesn’t call the game with the feet soccer – it calls it football; football is known as American football.

    • No, I knew that, but I just never understood why Americans call football, football when it has nothing to do with the feet and, as you said, everywhere except for the United States calls soccer football.
      And yes, isn’t #9 the worse? I had to will myself today not to go to the bookstore today and spend money on more books to accumulate on my bookshelf. Glad I’m not alone in this!

  4. I am so with you on 1. My mom always does it, and then argues with me for refusing to follow.
    And on 3, I’ve been taking undergrad chem courses for a while now – I’m pretty sure chemists also think Chemistry is a great mystery. They keep finding stuff that doesn’t do what they thought it would, which makes them construct entirely new theories that will be considered obsolete in no time. Very annoying. Maybe they should just stop trying to generalize things.
    Good luck with the jeans ;]

  5. I think one should always have more not-read books than read ones, especially if you read a lot. I don’t know, I can’t imagine having a whole library of books I’ve read it kind of feels like I finally worked out a puzzle I did not want to solve.

Leave a Reply

