Tattoos, trees and broccoli: problems of not being able to draw

Can you draw a tree that doesn’t look like a broccoli? Well, I can’t, and this is why I need your help.

Since I’m going to be leaving home in a few short months for college (gasp!), I want to get a tattoo to symbolize how my family will always be with me throughout life, so I settled on the idea of getting a tattoo of a tree to represent a family tree and to serve as a reminder to always stand tall, be proud and stay strong.

The only problem, though, is that I can’t draw a tree without it looking like a broccoli.Β So I’m turning to the wonderful members of the blogging community for help!

What should my tree tattoo look like? I’ve already asked a couple of my friends to draw some sketches for me, but I thought I’d ask you guys as well, if you are willing and have any free time on your hands to help me out. I know I want it to have leaves, which just makes the problem worse, since I can generally draw a barren tree just fine. In fact, I’m thinking of getting an aspen tree as it symbolizes determination and overcoming fears.

In addition, I’m planning on getting it on my ankle, so it isn’t on display all the time, but I can still see it easily. However, because I’m going to get it on my ankle, it does have to be a small drawing, which makes it hard to do any small details (a few of my friends were not happy about this).

Also, if you have any advice about getting tattoos, I would be more than happy to hear it! For instance, how long should I wait to get this tattoo? A couple of friends said that I should wait at least six months from when I first get the idea to actually getting the tattoo.Β Also, how bad does a getting a tattoo hurt? Some people tell me it’s just like a cat scratch and others tell me that it’s the worst kind of pain possible.

Any advice is welcome, since I want to make sure that I won’t regret anything πŸ™‚

12 thoughts on “Tattoos, trees and broccoli: problems of not being able to draw

  1. Wish I could help but I have broccoli trees too. I don’t have any tattoos (always too chicken of the pain) but my friends have told me bony places are the worse, so avoid that, ankle should be fine as long as it doesn’t come too close to the bone. Also make sure you’ve eaten. I know that sounds odd but I’ve had a few friends who didn’t beforehand and then got super dizzy and the artist stopped and made them eat or drink something. Just sharing what I’ve been told too. Good luck! πŸ™‚

    • Ouch! Bony places do sound painful. And I never knew about the necessity of eating before getting a tattoo, so thank you for letting me know! I’m sure if you hadn’t told me, I would have been one of the people getting dizzy while getting a tattoo.
      And aren’t broccoli trees the worst? πŸ™‚

      • Yeah I have a cousin who got a tattoo on top of her foot–ouch! I guess the pain lowers your blood sugar, who knows.
        Well I think my broccoli trees look amazing next to my stick people. πŸ˜€

  2. Hey there,
    Visit the tattoo parlor you intend on getting the work done at and ask the manager (or someone who looks like they know what the heck’s what!) who they would recommend to do something along the lines of what you are hoping for. After you have an idea of who that would be, you can tell them exactly what effect you’re hoping for/how/why and what criteria are important to you, and then ask them to sketch a little somethin’ something’ for you. Most tattoo artists are more than happy to do a sketch like this and many are really great at figuring out just what their client wants πŸ™‚ I only have 1 tattoo, but it’s a large one that took about 9 hours – hurts but it’s worth it!
    (oh, and I’m sure your broccoli trees aren’t that bad :)) Good luck – would love to know what you decide!

    • Thanks for advice! That’s actually super smart, and I am definitely going to check out the tattoo parlor and ask the manager now.
      Wow, what’s your tattoo of? Unless it’s too personal to say, in which case I completely understand.
      Haha, no they’re pretty bad. Or, at least, they would make an awful tattoo πŸ™‚

      • Not too personal, at all! I’ve got a large Japanese dragon centered on my back that extends from just under the midpoint (so I can still wear dresses that are fairly low cut in the back before any of it shows…don’t want to offend anyone’s conservative mama! ;P) The dragon body/legs swirl around down about 2 inches onto my butt-cheek. It’s coloured and has the Kanji for “live” in a glass smoking ball by the dragon’s mouth. Eventually, I’d like to get two more glass balls added with symbols for or the names of my kids in them (naturally, they think this is a great idea!). I love hearing about people getting their first ink! Usually makes for a great story πŸ™‚ Actually, (if you’re comfortable, of course!), shoot me an email or friend me on FB (info for both is in the Contact Me bit on my blog) – perhaps I can do a mini (written) interview with you just prior and just after you get it done about what the experience was like, meaning of the ink etc.? (Looking to start a new ongoing blog series the focuses on just this sort of thing:)) If you aren’t comfortable with that, no worries! All the best in your ink-getting journey…and beyond! πŸ™‚

  3. Depending on where you get the tattoo, it will hurt more or less. The top of the foot and the side are the most painful places to get a tattoo. I have one on the top of my right foot and it was very, very painful. What my artist told me is that a tattoo anywhere else (besides the side) won’t hurt as badly.

    When you go into a shop, make sure you are comfortable and that you can have an actual conversation with the person that will be doing the tattoo. Don’t be shy about what you want. Remember, it is permanent, so if you are talking to an artist and you feel like they are pushy or they aren’t giving you what you want, don’t get a tattoo done by them. Another thing to remember: a good artist will do sketch after sketch to get you exactly what you want. Once you know you like the artist and their style (make sure to look at their book) and if you still really want the tattoo, then you should go for it!

    I would wait a little while if I were you. Because you are getting something to symbolize your family, it’s a “safer” tattoo to get than anything else, like your boyfriend’s name, or your favorite band, etc. If I had gotten any of the tattoos I wanted when I was 19, I would totally regret them today (I’m 25). But it sounds like you have a good plan, and since you are asking around you obviously don’t want to make a stupid decision, so I think you are off to a really great start.

    One more thing: if you want detail, you gotta go big! Don’t be afraid to get a big tattoo. It is a work of art, and you have to let the art speak to you. Sounds cheesy, but I’m sure you understand what I’m getting at.

    Good luck!

    • Yeah, a few of my friends told me about the foot too, which I totally didn’t even think would hurt at all. But I think that region is the best for hiding it, so that’s why I think the ankle should hopefully be okay.
      I am going to wait until June, so we’ll see if I chicken out or not by then. I hope not though, because I’ve wanted a tattoo since the beginning of last year, and I’ve wanted this particular tattoo since August. So I really hope that I actually do have the strength and courage to get this πŸ™‚
      The problem with big though is that I really don’t want the tattoo on my upper body or any place easily visible. I would like having a tattoo that you could miss if you didn’t know that I had a tattoo. And that doesn’t leave a lot of areas to get big tattoos. And yes, I completely understand what you mean! It’s just that I wouldn’t know where to get a big tattoo.
      Thanks!

  4. As someone who has SEVERAL tattoos – all done by hubby and a few of those were with a handmade gun (Yikes!!) I can honestly say that they are NOT painful (with the exception of my spinal area!!) With that said one must also say that EVERYONE has a different pain threshold and tolerance level.
    “Remember that this ink will be on you for the rest of your life” is the best advice anyone could give someone… so in choosing your tattoo (and yours sounds awesome – including the reasoning behind it!!) be careful and know that you will not regret it later in life. I personally do not believe in regret period, but many do. Society as a whole is far more accepting of ink work (especially on women) now than ever before, but you will always encounter those FEW rooty tooty snooties who if it ever rained hard enough on them, they would surely drown as their noses are so far up in the air!!!
    A tattoo is a personal statement — each one unique to he (or she) who wears it. Good luck and once you have said tattoo… ENJOY it and let NO ONE tell you differently!!!

    • How was the handgun experience? Because that sounds a little too scary for me.
      That’s true, but the problem with that is I think that I have a very low pain threshold. I mean, I’m fine with paper cuts, but I’m a typical girly girl in the sense that I feel pain very easily.
      Thank you! I told a few people about it and they all said the same thing, so it’s good that I’m not the only one who thinks it’s a good idea when really it’s a stupid one πŸ™‚ Ugh. Those people annoy me. I really couldn’t care less about their opinion, and you are completely right! Haha I like how you said that though πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

