Mirror, mirror

This is a really quick and simple poem, but I feel bad that I’ve been shirking my NaPoWriMo responsibilities (I’ve already forgotten to write a poem a couple of times), so I thought I’d post it anyway.

God Damn It!

Say it next time you look in a mirror. Say:

God Damn!
I am beautiful.
I am courageous and honest,
kind, sweet, gentle
and strong, resilientโ€”a warrior
whose golden glow is not because of the sun but
because of my own warmth, love, joy and beauty that I give to the people around me.

I may have my flaws, because,
you and I both know that the mirror never lies,
but these flaws only add to my character.
They only add to the amazing person that I have becomeโ€”
through the years,
through the tears and the tough times that I’ve gone through.
It has led me to this moment

standing alone in front of a mirror

when I realize how wonderful
worthwhile
I truly am.

Say it.

12 thoughts on “Mirror, mirror

  1. Gave me goosebumps, it did! What a beautiful piece of work… You’ve reminded us all that we must learn to love ourselves for who we are, inspite of our many flaws. Just beautiful ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank you! I know, it’s a hard thing to do and there are days when everyone just feels like their flaws overshadow their strengths, and you are absolutely right in that my poem is trying to say that we should accept these flaws in addition with our strengths and love ourselves.

Leave a Reply

