To Kill a Mockingbird

“Until I feared I would lose it, I never loved to read. One doesn’t love breathing.”
To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee 

I had an inclass essay in my English today on any book that I’ve ever read in high school and in that inclass essay, it was recommended that I use quotes. So, of course I used the word “recommended” to mean “only if you really, really want to,” and the only quote that I actually memorized was this one.

Sure, it didn’t help me at all (the prompt was about the conflict between responsibility and a character’s passion or fury), but I am glad that I memorized because it is a really sweet quote that I think applies to all literati very well.

Have a great weekend!

5 thoughts on “To Kill a Mockingbird

  1. “So, of course I used the word “recommended” to mean “only if you really, really want to””

    I know how that goes! Even when I had the book in my hands during a test I could never remember or find a quote that would work well in my answers. I’ve never been big on memorizing quotes – even from books I love. :p

Leave a Reply

