National Poem in Your Pocket Day

Since today is National Poem in Your Pocket Day, I thought I’d share with you the poem that I had in my pocket, except that you’ve already seen it (Loveliest of Trees — one of my favorite poems EVER!). So instead, I’m going to share this one with you:

One Perfect Rose by Dorothy Parker

A single flow’r he sent me, since we met.
All tenderly his messenger he chose;
Deep-hearted, pure, with scented dew still wet –
One perfect rose.

I knew the language of the floweret;
‘My fragile leaves,’ it said, ‘his heart enclose.’
Love long has taken for his amulet
One perfect rose.

Why is it no one ever sent me yet
One perfect limousine, do you suppose?
Ah no, it’s always just my luck to get
One perfect rose.

 

Did you guys participate in National Poem in Your Pocket Day, and if not, what poem would you keep in your pocket if you had?

5 thoughts on “National Poem in Your Pocket Day

  1. Lovely poem! I unfortunately didn’t participate in it because I forgot about it, and when I remembered, it was already too late because we’re a day ahead of most of the world here in Australia….ooops. 😛

  2. I was planning to participate. I had poems from last year’s Poem in Your Pocket book. I was going to slip poems in co-workers’ pockets, but when I got to work, my world was spun sideways, if not turned upside down. Long story and not worth telling. I guess there is nothing stopping me from doing it on another day. 🙂

    In any case, my favorite pocket poem would be “A Drinking Song” by Yeats: Wine comes in at the mouth/ And love comes in at the eye./ That’s all we shall know for truth/ Before we grow old and die./ I raise the glass to my lips./ I look at you and I sigh.

Leave a Reply

