Hey everyone!

Sorry I haven’t posted in a while. I have no excuse besides the fact that my creative juices have not been working in my favor these past few days and thus I have no poems to share. And from that, I’m sure you can infer that I did not successfully finish NaPoWriMo. But never fear! There’s always next year—although I will be in college and who knows how much I’ll change within the span of 365 days.

Here’s a quick update on my life, just to clue you in since I haven’t written in what feels like a month.

1. Got a hair cut. Then got a shorter hair cut. And now I resemble Coconut Head from Ned’s Declassified School’s Survival Guide.

2. Had to write an inclass essay on a poem about a pig. Literally, the poem just talked about how fat and monstrous the pig was. If you want to check it out, it’s called “Sow” by Sylvia Plath. It was the weirdest poem I’ve ever read, and the weirdest essay I’ve ever had to write.

3. Finally got on to Pottermore… and found out that I was a Hufflepuff. For those who are not Harry Potter fans, people generally joke that Hufflepuff is the house where all the rejects from the other houses go, for the people who aren’t brave, smart or ambitious. So I wasn’t too thrilled, until I realized that the traits of Hufflepuff weren’t that far off from who I really am (loyal, optimistic and hardworking). And so I decided to embrace my inner Hufflepuff and make this mug:

It's a little hard to see since it's backwards, but it has the word "hufflepuff" written on the bottom, and it has the other houses' colors in the background.

And let’s face it, Hufflepuffs are GREAT finders! (Please tell me someone got the “A Very Potter Musical” reference). Also, funny side note, but Hufflepuff in French is pouf-soufflé and in Welsh, it’s Wfftitwff. So I can call myself a pouf-soufflé and not be lying.

4. Every year, senior members of the school newspaper create one last issue solely centered around seniors, college and reminiscing about high school, and at the end of the issue, one member writes a poem. And guess who volunteered to write said poem? That’s right—yours truly. Remember, none of my friends except for my best friend knows that I enjoy writing poetry, so I’m really going out on a limb here—or at least, it’s a limb for me. I still have traces of the shy kindergartener within me, though people don’t normally realize it. But you guys will most definitely be the first to see, critique and analyze this poem, so watch out for that.

And that’s about it! Again, I’m really sorry for not posting in SUCH a long time, and I’ll try to be more punctual in the future.

16 thoughts on “Update on my life

  1. I’m in Hufflepuff, as well! Would you mind if I added you? I’m KnightMist9500.
    And, erm, I’m sorry about the slew of notifications I’m sending your way, but you have an amazing blog!

    • YAY! I’m glad I found another hufflepuff!
      Actually, I just joined Pottermore to figure out which house I’m in, so I’ve totally forgotten my screen name and everything. Sorry about that 😦
      And it’s no problem at all! I love the little orange symbols at the top of the bar 🙂 And your blog is fantastic too. I really need to read books by Neil Gaiman now.

      • Haha, don’t worry about it. I am curious about your wand, though. 😉
        Okay, excellent. Expect more, then. And don’t think I’m stalking you, because I totally am. I’m so glad you decided to join Writers’ Bloc. Would you mind writing for us sometime?

      • Eeufff I really don’t remember. Actually, let me check because it shouldn’t take me that long.
        Wow! I would love to write for you! Writers’ Bloc sounds like such a cool idea that I just have to take part in it 🙂

      • My username is WillowVine2720, so feel free to friend me though I may be a very boring friend who does nothing.
        Also my wand is sycamore, Silver Lime and Unicorn, Ten and Three Quarter inches, Quite Flexible
        Does that tell you anything about me? haha because I have no idea if that means anything or not 🙂

  2. There you go. I’ve added you. And… would you mind if I told you what your wand meant? It’ll turn into a huge comment, though.
    About Writers’ Bloc. Send us a mail, just so that we know what e-mail id to contact you on. I’ll change your user status so that you can write out a post – write about whatever you want to – it could be a poem, something that inspired you, your favourite book, anything. We’re giving you a free rein. And when you’re ready, we’ll put it up!

      • Okay, so. Your wand.

        Unicorn –
        Unicorn hair generally produces the most consistent magic, and is least subject to fluctuations and blockages. Wands with unicorn cores are generally the most difficult to turn to the Dark Arts. They are the most faithful of all wands, and usually remain strongly attached to their first owner, irrespective of whether he or she was an accomplished witch or wizard.

        Minor disadvantages of unicorn hair are that they do not make the most powerful wands (although the wand wood may compensate) and that they are prone to melancholy if seriously mishandled, meaning that the hair may ‘die’ and need replacing.

        Silver lime –
        This unusual and highly attractive wand wood was greatly in vogue in the nineteenth century. Demand outstripped supply, and unscrupulous wandmakers dyed substandard woods in an effort to fool purchasers into believing that they had purchased silver lime. The reasons for these wands’ desirability lay not only in their unusually handsome appearance, but also because they had a reputation for performing best for Seers and those skilled in Legilimency, mysterious arts both, which consequently gave the possessor of a silver lime wand considerable status. When demand was at its height, wandmaker Arturo Cephalopos claimed that the association between silver lime and clairvoyance was ‘a falsehood circulated by merchants like Gerbold Ollivander (my own grandfather), who have overstocked their workshops with silver lime and hope to shift their surplus.’ But Cephalopos was a slipshod wandmaker and an ignoramus, and nobody, Seer or not, was surprised when he went out of business.

        Sycamore
        The sycamore makes a questing wand, eager for new experience and losing brilliance if engaged in mundane activities. It is a quirk of these handsome wands that they may combust if allowed to become ‘bored,’ and many witches and wizards, settling down into middle age, are disconcerted to find their trusty wand bursting into flame in their hand as they ask it, one more time, to fetch their slippers. As may be deduced, the sycamore’s ideal owner is curious, vital and adventurous, and when paired with such an owner, it demonstrates a capacity to learn and adapt that earns it a rightful place among the world’s most highly-prized wand woods.

        Pretty good, eh? Mine’s a Cedar with a Phoenix Core. It’s surpringly accurate, and wonderfully flattering, at times. 🙂

        Just checked the inbox, and it’s there. I’ll just change your status and we’re good to go. 😀

Leave a Reply

