Jhumpa Lahiri

I’ve been reading Interpreter of Maladies by Jhumpa Lahiri and I think it’s time for me to say what I’ve always wanted to say about a book:

Hotdiggity Damn! This book is good to the last drop!


It’s so truthful and so full of human expression and emotions without being soap-opera, and I just can’t get enough out of it. Each short story makes me want to spend a whole day just digesting what she wrote, poring over every word and letting it simmer in my brain so I never forget it.

Anywho, what I really wanted to say is that Jhumpa Lahiri is most certainly my favorite author (don’t worry, The Great Gatsby is still my favorite book!), and I would love to be able to write like her. She writes with such subtlety, but your heart still melts out of sadness and joy intermingled with each other after each of her stories. She is a master of words, and I think that’s going to be my literary goal: to be able to write like Jhumpa Lahiri, to write about the small but have it mean so much more, and to be able to portray human emotions so tastefully and articulately as she does.

To anyone who is not read anything written by Jhumpa Lahiri, I highly recommend checking out one of her books pronto. You, my literary friend, are missing out.

4 thoughts on “Jhumpa Lahiri

  1. i agree, not wholeheartedly though. she is quite a writer but after reading her next colection of short stories, i’m beginning to belive she’s a tad too inlfuenced by her roots, that she can do to experiment a lil more, infuse some more variety into her work.

    • That’s true, her stories do reflect a certain experience and she doesn’t really try to change that.
      I completely understand what you’re saying, but the fact that I can relate to every one of her stories (maybe because I am an Indian living in America) is something I’m not normally able to do, which is why I think she’s so fabulous!

  2. There are a few books that I can read again and again without really skipping some pages…this is one definitely belongs to that category. Could not have agreed with you more 😉

Leave a Reply

