The Figurine

By D. Lifland from 2River View Magazine

I left the jade, green elephant at her apartment.
She brought it back from a work trip to India as a gift
& I placed it on her dresser that night.
I enjoyed looking at it when I stayed over.

It was a handsome elephant with a strong trunk
& a wonderful color that sparkled
in the lamp light. It had a wise expression
like it knew something about the world.

I’m glad I never took it home.
Given the circumstances, I would’ve
placed it in a box on the second shelf in my closet
with my other things.

Leave a Reply

