It was a great 10 days, but boy am I glad to be back home. For one thing, cruise food stops being fabulous after the second day when the surprise of what they offer disappears. And another thing is that my family is just not a cruise family.

We enjoy traveling and seeing the world, but we’re not really people to take part in the cruise activities, and it’s just not fun to only stay in places like Corfu, Greece

or Dubrovnik, Croatia

 

for only four hours, max. Honestly, I wouldn’t have minded staying two weeks in each of the cities we visited (and I wouldn’t mind living in Corfu, Greece for the rest of my life), but with the cruise, it’s not possible to do that.

Besides that though, my family and I had an excellent time, and I’m looking forward to the next family vacation (my Dad’s pushing for Singapore in the winter and I have no complaints about that).

But even though I just got back from a fabulous trip, it’s not like I have nothing more to look forward to. For example, tomorrow I am doing something incredibly exciting but also something that every parent dreads and has nightmares about.

Yes, I am getting a tattoo.

I set up my appointment, talked to the tattoo artist, and I’m going to head over there with my mother and my best friend at 6pm tomorrow. I’m just a leetle bit scared so I’m glad that I’ll have some people with me. And the great thing is is that my parents are completely on board! Okay, maybe “completely on board” is going a little too far. Here’s their view on me getting a tattoo:

“We know you’re going off to college and that you’ll be doing things that we have no control over and possibly no idea of. So if you’re going to get a tattoo, we’d rather you got one with our knowledge so we can come with you and make sure everything is alright.”

I have the coolest parents in the world. They were also alright with me skydiving and studying English in college instead of engineering or medicine, which really shatters the perception of Indian parents, doesn’t it?

Hope you guys all had a great 2 weeks, and I can’t wait to get back to blogging 🙂

2 thoughts on “Back Home!

  1. I am not one for cruises, like you, I enjoy discovering and walking on my own without having to worry about time frames and such. Tattoos are addicting! Good luck, the pain is worth it.

Leave a Reply

